Board of Directors

The Board of directors is comprised of six (6) members from the communications industry. The number of board members who are from the broadcasting distribution undertaking, Videotron, is limited to a maximum of one third of the total number of directors. The Board of directors will make all decisions regarding the Quebecor Fund, including its general policy orientations, and in so doing will specifically take into account the guidelines specified on its website. The Board of directors bears sole and exclusive responsibility for its decisions regarding financing. The Quebecor Fund’s day-to-day business activities will be managed by one of the directors specifically designated by the Board.

 

Here are the members:

 

 

Serge ThibaudeauPresident and Chief Executive Officer

Serge Thibaudeau is President and CEO of the Quebecor Fund, an organization he founded in 2000. He is presently also the President of MTI Groupe conseil Inc, his own company, and of the Auberge du Savoir. In addition, Serge Thibaudeau had been on the Board of Directors of the Centre d’Études sur les médias since 1995 until 2014. He has worked in several functions for the government of Quebec in the past, notably as Director General for the Ministère des Communications, Secretary General for the Commission d’étude sur le cinéma et l’audiovisuel, cabinet chief and political attaché for the Ministère des Communications and the Ministère des Affaires culturelles, head of computerization for Cégeps, and head of the computer pedagogy laboratory for the Ministère de l’Éducation. Mr. Thibaudeau holds Master’s degrees in public administration and education.

 

 

Franklin Delaney – Chairman of the Board

Originally from the Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Mr. Franklin Delaney completed his Bachelor’s degree at Bathurst College in New Brunswick and graduated in law from the University of Ottawa in 1967. He was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1968. Upon completing university, he began working at the CRTC. He went on to become its Secretary and left the organization in 1971 to buy and manage a radio station company in Quebec until 1982. He also participated in various communications projects. From 1982 to 1990, Mr. Delaney worked at Société Radio-Canada as advisor to the president, then became executive vice president of the Société, and vice president of French television. He was the founding president of TV5 in 1988. Since 1990, Mr. Franklin Delaney was a consultant for several companies, organizations and governments in the fields of radio, cable television, telecommunications, and television and film production. From 1998 to 1999, he presided over TQS Inc. Throughout his career, Mr. Delaney participated in numerous communications studies and reports; he was particularly active in the promotion of French-language audiovisual material. He sat on the boards of several organizations in the communications, arts and philanthropy sectors. France awarded him with the title of Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, one of the highest distinctions of the French Republic, for his work in the communications field. 

 

 

 

François Champagne – Secretary-Treasurer

 

As president and main shareholder of Productions SDA, François Champagne has worked in our industry for nearly 30 years. He has been administrator, producer and executive producer on several documentaries, training documents, youth programs and drama programs, and has won several Gemini awards. He sat on the Board of Directors of the APFTQ for many years as vice president, as well as industry representative for the Board of Directors of the Montréal Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Champagne has sat on the Board of Directors of the Quebecor Fund as Secretary-Treasurer since it was founded in 2000.

 

 

J. Serge Sasseville – Administrator – Videotron s.e.n.c. Representative 

J.Serge Sassevilleis Senior Vice President, Corporate and Institutional Affairs of Quebecor Media Inc.  As such, he assumes responsibility for Quebecor Media's Corporate Affairs, Regulatory Affairs, Institutional Affairs/Government Relations and Industry Relations Departments. He is a member of the Management Committee of Quebecor Media. J.SergeSasseville has been with the Quebecor group of companies since 1987 where he has held previously various positions either as legal counsel or manager, including Director of Legal services of Quebecor Inc. and Corporate Secretary of Quebecor Communications Inc., Vice President, Legal Affairs, Corporate Secretary and Assistant to the President of Archambault Group Inc., founder and General Manager of the Archambault.ca e-commerce Web site,Vice-President, Legal Affairs and Secretary of Vidéotron ltée and Canoe Inc.,President, Music Sector, of Archambault Group Inc. and Vice President, Corporate and Institutional Affairs of Quebecor Media Inc. J.Serge Sasseville is a member of the Funders Group of the Canada Media Fund. He is also a member of the Executive Committee and he is Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of CWTA (Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association), Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of CPAC (Cable Public Affairs Channel) and a member of the Advisory Board of the Institut du Québec (a partnership between HEC Montréal and The Conference Board of Canada) and of the Boards of Directors of the Quebecor Fund, of the Quebec Employers Council, of Banff World Media Festival and of National Arts Centre Foundation. He is Chairman of the Board of Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà.  He has been for 10 years a member of the Commission du disque et du spectacle de variétés of SODEC and a member of the Board of Directors of Musicaction. He was admitted to the Quebec Bar in 1981. Before joining Quebecor, he has practised law as a litigator at the law firm Stein, Monast, in Quebec City, from 1981 to 1987.

 

Luc Lavoie – Administrator – Videotron s.e.n.c. Representative

Beginning in May 2010, Luc Lavoie has been senior advisor to the CEO of Quebecor Inc.. As such he is mostly involved in the development of Sun News, a new all-news channel in Canada. From December 2000 to December 2008, Luc Lavoie was Executive Vice-President, Corporate Affairs, of Quebecor Inc. . He was previously Executive Vice-President of National Public Relations, first at National’s Ottawa office, which he helped build and then at the Montreal office. In that capacity, he advised executives and policy-makers across North America and played a key role on some of the hot issues of the day. Before joining National, Mr. Lavoie was Canada’s Commissioner General to the Universal Exposition in Seville, Spain. His performance in that diplomatic post earned him recognition by the newspaper La Presse as its “Man of the Week.” Previously, Mr. Lavoie served in the federal government as Chief of Staff to the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources, Chief of Staff to the Secretary of State, and Deputy Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister of Canada. In that capacity, he supervised the Prime Minister’s foreign trips and was involved in all current political issues of importance. Between 1976 and 1986, Mr. Lavoie was national correspondent for La Presse Canadienne and then for the TVA television network. He has been a contributor to many other media outlets, including L'Actualité, CTV, Global and CNN. He was twice elected President of the Parliamentary Press Gallery. He has travelled extensively in the course of his career, visiting nearly 70 countries on 5 continents. He speaks French, English and Spanish. On a regular basis he has been invited as a lecturer by different universities, including the Université de Montréal and the Université du Québec à Montréal. He is also well known as a geust pundit on different public affairs shows, in both English and French. He is also a member of the board of the Fondation de l'Institut Pinel. In September 2009 the Minister of Defense appointed him Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel of the Fusiliers Mont-Royal, one of the most prestigious infantry regiment in Canada.

 

 

 

 

 
Accueil About Board of directors

Le conseil d'administration

Le conseil d'administration est composé de six (6) membres provenant de l'industrie des médias, du divertissement et des communications. Le nombre de membres provenant de l'entreprise de distribution de radiodiffusion Vidéotron est limité à un maximum du tiers du nombre total de membres. Le conseil d'administration prend toutes les décisions liées au Fonds Québecor notamment quant à ses orientations, et utilise à cette fin, entre autres, les lignes directrices énoncées sur ce site. Le conseil d'administration a la responsabilité entière et exclusive de ses décisions de financement. Les affaires courantes du Fonds Québecor sont gérées par un des administrateurs spécifiquement nommé par le conseil d'administration.

 

En voici les membres :

 

Serge Thibaudeau  - Président Directeur-général

Serge Thibaudeau oeuvre à titre de Président directeur-général au sein de Fonds Québecor, organisme qu’il a fondé en 2000. Il est également Président de son entreprise MTI Groupe conseil inc. et de l'Auberge du Savoir. Serge Thibaudeau a aussi été membre du C.A. du Centre d'Études sur les médias, depuis 1995 jusqu'à 2014. Précédemment, il a occupé de nombreuses fonctions au sein du Gouvernement du Québec, notamment à titre de Directeur général au Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, de Secrétaire général de la Commission d'étude sur le cinéma et l’audiovisuel, chef de cabinet et attaché politique au Ministère des Communications et au Ministère des Affaires culturelles, responsable de l’informatisation des Cégeps, responsable du laboratoire de pédagogie informatique au Ministère de l’Éducation. M. Thibaudeau est titulaire d'une maîtrise en administration publique et d'une maîtrise en sciences de l’éducation.

 

 

Franklin Delaney - Président du Conseil d'administration

Monsieur Franklin Delaney est originaire des Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Il fit ses études classiques (B.A.) au Collège de Bathurst au Nouveau-Brunswick et il est licencié en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa en 1967. Il est admis au Barreau du Québec en 1968. Dès sa sortie de l'Université, il entre au CRTC, en devint le secrétaire et quitta l'organisme en 1971 pour acquérir et diriger une entreprise de stations de radio au Québec jusqu'en 1982. Il participe aussi à différents projets dans le domaine des communications. De 1982 à 1990, monsieur Delaney est au service de la Société Radio-Canada comme conseiller du président, puis devient premier vice-président de la Société et vice-président de la télévision française. Il est aussi président fondateur de TV5 en 1988. Depuis 1990, monsieur Franklin Delaney agit à titre de consultant pour plusieurs entreprises, organismes et gouvernements dans le domaine de la radio, de la câblodistribution, des télécommunications, de la production télévisuelle et cinématographique. De 1998 à 1999, il préside TQS inc. Monsieur Franklin Delaney a participé, au cours de sa carrière, à de nombreuses études et rapports dans le domaine des communications; il a été particulièrement actif dans la promotion de l'audiovisuel de langue française. Il a siégé aux conseils de plusieurs organisations dans le secteur des communications, des arts et de la philanthropie. La France lui a conféré le grade d'Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, l'une des principales décorations de la République Française, pour son action dans le domaine des communications. En plus de présider le conseil d'administration du Fonds Québecor depuis l'an 2000, M. Delaney préside les conseils d'administration de PhasOptx Inc et de la Fondation Madeli-Aide.

 

 

François Champagne - Secrétaire-Trésorier

 

Président, principal actionnaire de la maison de Productions SDA, François Champagne a oeuvré pendant près de 30 ans dans notre industrie. Il fut à la fois gestionnaire, producteur et producteur exécutif sur plusieurs documentaires, document de formation, émissions jeunesse et émissions dramatiques, récipiendaire de nombreux prix Gémeaux. Il a siégé pendant plusieurs années au Conseil d'administration de l'APFTQ en qualité de vice-président, ainsi que représentant de l'industrie au conseil d'administration de la Chambre de commerce de Montréal. Monsieur Champagne siège au conseil d'administration de Fonds Québecor à titre de Secrétaire-Trésorier depuis sa fondation en 2000.

 

 

J. Serge Sasseville - Administrateur, représentant de Vidéotron Ltée

J.Serge Sasseville est Vice-président, Affaires corporatives et institutionnelles de Québecor Media inc. À ce titre, il assume la responsabilité des secteurs des affaires publiques, des affaires corporatives, des affaires réglementaires, des affaires institutionnelles/relations gouvernementales, des communications et des dons et commandites de Québecor Media inc. Il est également le porte-parole officiel de l'entreprise. J. Serge Sasseville s'est joint à Québecor inc. en 1987. Depuis son entrée en fonctions au sein de ce conglomérat, il a occupé plusieurs fonctions tant à titre d'avocat que de gestionnaire, incluant notamment les postes de Directeur des services juridiques de Québecor inc. et Secrétaire corporatif de Communications Quebecor inc., Vice-président, Affaires juridiques, Secrétaire corporatif et Adjoint au Président de Groupe Archambault inc., fondateur et directeur général du site de commerce électronique Archambault.ca, Vice-président, Affaires juridiques et Secrétaire corporatif de Vidéotron ltée et Canoë inc. et Président, Secteur Musique, de Groupe Archambault inc. J.Serge Sasseville siège également à la Commission du disque et du spectacle de variétés de la SODEC ainsi qu'aux Conseils d'administration du Fonds Québecor et de Musicaction. Il est aussi membre du Comité exécutif et Vice-président du Conseil d'administration de l'ACTS (Association Canadienne des Télécommunications Sans Fil), membre du Conseil d'administration et Vice-président de l'Association québécoise des télédiffuseurs et radiodiffuseurs (AQTR), membre du Conseil d'administration et Vice-président de CCAST (Canadian Coalition Against Signal Theft) ainsi que membre du Conseil d'administration de CPAC (Cable Public Affairs Channel), la chaîne d'affaires publiques par câble. Il a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 1981. Avant d'entrer chez Québecor, il a pratiqué le droit de 1981 à 1987 comme avocat plaideur au sein du cabinet d'avocats Stein Monast de Québec.

 

 

Luc Lavoie – Administrateur, représentant de Vidéotron Ltée

Depuis mai 2010, Luc Lavoie est conseiller principal du PDG de Québecor inc. À ce titre, il agit principalement dans le dossier du développement et du lancement de Sun News, une nouvelle chaîne de nouvelles en continu au Canada anglais. Luc Lavoie a occupé le poste de Vice-président exécutif de Québecor inc. de décembre 2000 à décembre 2008. À ce titre, il a joué un rôle clé dans le développement de Québecor Média, la filiale de Québecor créée suite à l’acquisition de Groupe Vidéotron à l’automne 2000. Avant de se joindre à Quebecor, il occupait le poste de vice-président exécutif, NATIONAL-Montréal où il a conseillé quelques uns des plus importants chefs d'entreprises et décideurs en Amérique et a joué un rôle-clé dans quelques uns des dossiers les plus chauds du continent. Auparavant, il occupait la même fonction avec NATIONAL-Ottawa, dont il a été un des principaux bâtisseurs. Avant de se joindre au Cabinet de relations publiques NATIONAL, il occupait le poste de commissaire général du Canada à l'Exposition universelle de Séville en Espagne. Son succès dans cette fonction diplomatique lui a valu d'être choisi « personnalité de la semaine » du quotidien La Presse. Auparavant, il avait été successivement directeur de cabinet du ministre de l'énergie, des mines et des ressources, directeur de cabinet du secrétaire d'État, et directeur de cabinet adjoint du Premier ministre du Canada. À ce titre, il a supervisé ses visites aux quatre coins du monde et a été impliqué dans la plupart des grands dossiers politiques de cette époque. De 1976 à 1986, il a été correspondant national successivement pour La Presse Canadienne et le réseau TVA. Il a aussi collaboré à de nombreux autres médias d'information dont l'Actualité, CTV, Global, CNN, Le Soir (Bruxelles), etc. À deux reprises, il a été élu Président de la Tribune de la presse parlementaire nationale. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a abondamment voyagé, visitant près de 70 pays sur les cinq continents. Trilingue, il parle français, anglais et espagnol. Régulièrement invité à titre de conférencier dans diverses institutions d’enseignement, dont l’Université de Montréal et l’Université du Québec à Montréal, M. Lavoie est membre du conseil consultatif du Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Il est également membre du conseil d'administration de la fondation de l'Institut Pinel. Luc Lavoie a été nommé en septembre 2009 à titre de lieutenant-colonel honoraire des Fusiliers Mont-Royal, un des plus prestigieux régiments d'infanterie au Canada.

 

 

 


 

 
Accueil A propos Conseil administration